Team USA Scholarships

Team USA Scholarship Winners To Test Andersen Racing Star Mazda Car

Fairfield, N.J. (August 30, 2007)

In keeping with his long history of training rising open-wheel stars, Dan Andersen of Andersen Racing announced today that he has awarded tests in an Andersen Racing Star Mazda car to Patrick Barrett and Joel Miller, the 2007 winners of the prestigious Team USA Scholarship.

The tests will occur in October at VIRginia International Raceway in Alton, Va.

It is hoped that the tests will give both young drivers experience in a car that is similar to the Formula Palmer Audis they’ll drive at Brands Hatch and Snetterton, England this fall in the six-race Formula Palmer Audi Autumn Trophy competition. The date for the races at Brands Hatch are Oct. 27-28. The action moves to Snetterton Nov. 3-4.

Los Osos, Calif.-based Barrett, who turns 18 today, is currently leading the Pacific F2000 Championship. Miller, 19, of Hesperia, Calif., is currently leading the Skip Barber National series.

"I’ve watched the Team USA Scholarship program over the years, and I’ve been very impressed with how it has helped young American drivers’ careers," Andersen said. "We’re delighted to be able to offer the Star Mazda tests, and we hope they’re helpful to the boys as preparation for their races in Europe."

"It’s a fabulous opportunity, and I join the boys in expressing gratitude," added auto racing writer/broadcaster Jeremy Shaw, the scholarship’s founder and president.

Andersen Racing offers a comprehensive, three-tiered ladder system to give rising stars from racing schools, karting and club racing one cohesive home and the proper training they need to reach open-wheel racing’s major leagues. The Fairfield, N.J.-based team fields multiple entries in the Hankook Tires F2000 Championship, the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear and the Indy Pro Series in order to achieve these goals. It is the official Indy Pro Series development team for top IndyCar team Rahal Letterman Racing.

Past winners of the Team USA Scholarship include J.R. Hildebrand, who drove an RLR/Andersen Racing Indy Pro Series car in two events last weekend at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif. Other previous winners include Bryan Herta, Jimmy Vasser, Buddy Rice, A.J. Allmendinger, Andy Lally, Tony Ave, Memo Gidley, Phil Giebler, Paul Edwards and Joey Hand. A complete list of the winners since the scholarship was established in 1990 is available on the Internet at www.teamusascholarship.org. http://www.TeamUSAScholarship.org/

More information on Andersen Racing can be found on the team’s Web site at www.andersenracingteam.com. http://www.andersenracingteam.com/


Copyright 2006 Patrick Barrett Racing - Site Designed by
Eyenovation Multimedia